Tags

, ,

Here are 8 duelists who have earned their invitation by winning their respective region’s Summer Qualifier.

 

Leung Siu Pan

Age: 20

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Hong Kong Summer Qualifier (JP)
2nd, Asia Championship 2017 Hong Kong Winter Qualifier (JP)
3 – 4th, YOT Hong Kong 2014
3rd, Asia Championship Plus 2012

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Hong Kong. 幻影卡社.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I started playing when I was 6-years-old. I was watching the anime and found the card game interesting, so I started playing it.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
My preparations are researching on deck builds and practice more with my friends.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Firewall Dragon”.

 

Kwong Ka Ho

Age: 26

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Hong Kong Summer Qualifier (TC)
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2017 Hong Kong Winter Qualifier (JP)
2nd, Asia Championship 2014
5 – 8th, Asia Championship Plus 2012

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Hong Kong. I frequently visit Card Hero.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I was introduced to it by a friend back in 2005.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
Eat well. Sleep well. Stay healthy.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Dragonic Diagram”. This is a card that can destroy the game’s balance, gameplay experience and enjoyment, to search for a True Draco card.

 

Yeo Gou Jie

Age: 25

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Malaysia Summer Qualifier
9 – 18th, Asia Championship 2016
3 – 4th, Asia Championship SP 2015
5 – 8th, Asia Championship Plus 2014
5 – 8th, YOT Singapore 2015
1st, Asia Championship Plus 2010
2nd, Asia Championship 2009

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Malaysia. Gamers Arena.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I was introduced to the card game by a friend back in 2008.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I practice with my friends.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring”. Because it is great against Infernoid and I have a dislike for deck.

 

Odate Hiroshi

Age: 20

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Philippines Summer Qualifier

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Philippines. Robinsons Galleria Courtside.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I think I started Yu-Gi-Oh! when I was 7-years-old through the anime.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I practice almost everyday.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King”. It has a fantastic effect and I am a big fan of the Dracoslayer story involving “Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer”. “Ignis Heat, the True Dracowarrior” is also another favourite of mine because of its artwork.

 

Yong Qian Rui

Age: 28

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Singapore Summer Qualifier
5 – 8th, Asia Championship 2017 Malaysia Winter Qualifier
2nd, Asia Championship 2016 Singapore Qualifier
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2016 Malaysia Qualifier

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Johor Bahru, Malaysia. Destiny Draw – Southkey (Johor Bahru) and Kluang in Malaysia, Active Card Collection and Kit Shop in Singapore.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I started playing with a friend 15 years ago.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I review all the popular decks in the metagame, and then practice against each of them with my friend.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring”. It is currently the best Quick Effect monster that activates from hand.

 

Hsu Li-Te

Age: 28

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Taiwan Summer Qualifier (JP)
5 – 16th, Asia Championship 2015

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Banqiao, Taipei, Taiwan. 崇文社 and 登記文具店.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
During senior high school, I started playing with my friends when I was 17-years-old.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I practice with my friends.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King”. Because it is strong, ferocious, handsome.

 

Kuo Paihung

Age: 23

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Taiwan Summer Qualifier (TC)
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2016 Taiwan Qualifier (JP)

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Tainan, Taiwan. I frequently patronise 卡店為長榮2001 and 台南卡通.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
When I was freshman in University, because the campus has a Yu-Gi-Oh! club, and with my passion for card games, I begun devoting myself into the game. It has been 4 – 5 years since.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I discuss strategies with my friends, and practice when we are free. I also watch plenty of Taiwanese and Japanese tournament videos, expose myself to different lines of thought.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring”. Because there is finally a Quick Effect monster that activates from hand to beat “Maxx”C””.

 

Jirawat Ratanaputtasakorn

Age: 18

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Asia Championship 2017 Thailand Summer Qualifier
5 – 8th, Asia Championship 2016 Thailand Qualifier

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Thailand. Modern Card.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
My friend introduced it to me back in 2009 and I was intrigued by it.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
Watch tournament videos.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Souleating Oviraptor”. Because it is the Dinosaur version of “Elemental HERO Stratos”.

