Tags

, ,

Here are 5 duelists who have earned their invitation by topping their respective region’s Ranking Tournament in Season 3 and 4.

 

Liu Hoi Ki

Age: 28

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 3 + 4 Hong Kong
2nd, YOT Taiwan 2016
2nd, Asia Championship Plus 2014
2nd, Asia Championship 2006

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Hong Kong. I frequently visit Players’ Club.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
When I was a sophomore in high school, I was influenced by my classmates and started playing.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I try to keep myself relaxed, I also practice with my teammates.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Zoodiac Chakanine”. She has the cutest artwork among the Zoodiac.

 

Loo Wei Xuan

Age: 22

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 3 + 4 Malaysia

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I normally play at Toysbay and Gamers Arena.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
When I was 15-years-old.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I practice everyday.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King”. It is the strongest card in the current metagame that is also the embodiment of my best friend in Malaysia, Low Weng Fong.

 

John Kevin Alcantara

Age: 26

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 3 + 4 Philippines
5 – 8th, Asia Championship SP 2015 Philippines Qualifier
5 – 8th, Asia Championship 2014 Philippines Qualifier

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Philippines. Courtside at Robinson’s Galleria.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I think it was around 2006, I was watching the Yu-Gi-Oh! anime and wanted to mimic them. I was still a student then, so I saved up my allowance to buy some cards.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I regularly watch tournament videos on youtube, as well as read up articles from various websites about the metagame. I practice with my friends and strong players. I also consulted previous Philippines representatives for their thoughts on the current metagame and tips for the Asia Championship.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Ultimate Conductor Tyranno”. Dinosaurs was one of my first decks and I had always hoped that one day, there will be a strong Dinosaur boss card that will make an impact in the meta.

 

Milton Chua

Age: 23

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 3 + 4 Singapore
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2016 Singapore Winter Qualifier
5 – 8th, Asia Championship 2015 Malaysia Qualifier
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2011 Singapore Qualifier

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Singapore. Econ Card Shop.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I started in 2009 when I was in school but stopped around 2011. In 2014 I returned to the game.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I playtested with all the different decks.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King”. Its invulnerability to most cards makes the game very interesting on how to deal with it.

 

Zu Chiumao

Age: 29

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 3 + 4 Taiwan

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Chiayi, Taiwan. I freuqent 嘉義興義發記, but for this period I have been practicing at 台中牌牌戰.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I was brought into the game by my good friend, Yang Cheng-Chun, when I was 13-years-old during my freshman year in high school. I have been playing nonstop ever since and hope to bring back some good results for Taiwan.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I have been doing some intensive practice at 台中牌牌戰 with the local players. I’m very grateful to the boss, Yan Zhengxun, and my good friend, Lin Zih-Ping, for their full support, as well as the coaching from all the top players in Taichung.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Zoodiac Hammerkong”. Because it causes the opponent to be unable to activate the effect of their own “Zoodiac Tigermortar”, and causes “Zoodiac Whiptail” to be unable to attach itself to another Zoodiac Xyz monster. A Monkey God in the mirror match.

