Tags

, ,

Here are 5 duelists who have earned their invitation by topping their respective region’s Ranking Tournament in Season 1 and 2.

 

Lai Cheuk Shing

Age: 22

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 1 + 2 Hong Kong
2nd, YOT Hong Kong 2017 Asia Premier
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2016
1st, YOT Hong Kong 2015 Asia Premier
5 – 8th, Asia Championship Plus 2013

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Hong Kong.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I started playing in 2005, but it wasn’t until 2013 that I begun playing competitively.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I play in many different card shops to gain experience playing against different opponents. I also bought brand new card sleeves.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Firewall Dragon”. Specifically the Weekly Jump artwork because it looks really cool.

 

Ho Yun Kang

Age: 26

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 1 + 2 Malaysia
2nd, Asia Championship 2015
1st, Ranking 2014 Malaysia

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Toysbar and Gamers Arena.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I started playing in 2011 after being influenced by my friends.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
Play test with friends and get plenty of rest. Work Hard, Play Hard!

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King”. It is especially strong in the current metagame and it is the embodiment of my best friend in Malaysia, Low Weng Fong.

 

Joriel Sunga

Age: 24

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 1 + 2 Philippines
2nd, Asia Championship Plus 2013 Philippines Qualifier

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Philippines. Courtside Galleria.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I came across Yu-Gi-Oh! when I was Grade 5 in 2003 after having watched the anime. So I started playing the video games, but it wasn’t until 2013 that I begun playing the physical card game.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I practice everyday, check up on deck builds to improve my deck’s consistency, and study the metagame with my teammates.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring”. It is a Quick Effect monster that activates from hand and is able to stop pretty much everything.

 

Yu Bixuan

Age: 23

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 1 + 2 Singapore
3 – 4th, Asia Championship 2015
1st, YOT Singapore 2015 Asia Premier
4th, Asia Championship Plus 2012

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Singapore. I frequent Full-Yen Trading and Thousand Taste Trading.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
I picked up this game as a hobby with my friends from school, and then begun playing competitively in 2010.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I practice with friends weekly prior to the event. I keep myself constantly updated with the latest deck lists and tech choices, and then participate in local ranking tournaments and larger events to apply what I learnt and play properly under pressure. Most importantly, I scrutinise my plays and try to minimise my misplays, even for casual games.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
“Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King”. It is a super strong card that is also the embodiment of my best friend in Malaysia, Low Weng Fong.

 

Shao Yi-Min

Age: 26

Notable Yu-Gi-Oh! Accomplishments:
1st, Ranking 2016 Season 1 + 2 Taiwan
5 – 12th, Asia Championship SP 2015

Where are you from? Which card shop(s) do you frequent?
Taipei, Taiwan. I don’t have a specific card shop that I frequent.

When and how did you started playing Yu-Gi-Oh?
When I was in elementary school.

How did you prepare for the Asia Championship 2017?
I watch videos of other top players, check up on Japanese top decks and adjust my deck accordingly, read up on the official Yu-Gi-Oh! Database to keep myself updated on the latest rulings.

What is your favourite card that was released this year in 2017? Why?
Timelord. I fell in love with this archetype ever since their appearance in the 5D’s anime, and have also tried this deck in the PSP games. I hope the remaining cards will be released in the OCG soon.

